The Balmer series is a set of spectral lines in the hydrogen atom. The series is named after Johann Balmer, who discovered the series in 1885.

The Balmer series is caused by transitions from the n = 2 energy level to lower energy levels. The series includes the lines H-alpha (n = 2 to n = 3), H-beta (n = 2 to n = 4), H-gamma (n = 2 to n = 5), and so on.

The energy of a photon in the Balmer series is given by the equation:

E = -13.6 eV / (n^2)

where n is the quantum number of the lower energy level.

Thus, the photon with the smallest energy is the H-alpha photon, with n = 3.

Other related questions:

Q: What is the lowest energy shell N for Balmer series?

A: The lowest energy shell for Balmer series is N=2.

Q: What energy level is Balmer series?

A: The Balmer series is a series of spectral lines in the hydrogen emission spectrum. The series is caused by transitions from higher energy levels to the second energy level of hydrogen.

Q: Which one of the Balmer lines of hydrogen has the highest energy?

A: The Balmer series of hydrogen lines includes the lines with the highest energies. The Balmer series includes the lines with energies of 656.3, 486.1, 434.0, and 410.2 nanometers.

Q: Which is more energetic among the first four lines in Balmer series?

A: The first four lines in the Balmer series are:

H-alpha: 6562.8 ± 0.0003 nm

H-beta: 4861.3 ± 0.0003 nm

H-gamma: 4341.6 ± 0.0003 nm

H-delta: 4101.7 ± 0.0003 nm

The most energetic line in this series is H-alpha, followed by H-beta, H-gamma, and H-delta.


  • Was this Helpful ?
  • YesNo

By admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *